Current Board members (effective January 2024):

  • Caitlin Jacobson, Ketchikan Gateway Borough School District, School Libraries Representative
  • Catherine Melville, Juneau Public Library, Public Libraries (over $500k) Representative
  • Kathy Morgan, Secretary, Tok Community Library, Small/Rural Library Representative
  • Elise Tomlinson, President, Egan Library University of Alaska Southeast, Academic Libraries Representative
  • Teressa Williams, Tuzzy Consortium Library, At-large Member
  • VACANT, At-large Member
  • Valarie Kingsland, Alaska State Library Representative


The first formal Board of Directors was elected January 2009. Appointments are made for a two-year term (Starting March 2019, appointments are made for a three-year term). Directors, except the representative of the Alaska State Library, may serve no more than three consecutive terms in the same seat (Starting March 2019, Directors may serve no more than two consecutive terms in the same seat). The Board of Directors consists of seven members, including one representative for the Alaska State Library and six members elected to represent academic, public, school, small/rural libraries, and two at-large members.